Surviving “National Donut Day” during my Whole30

I’m a news reporter.

That means EVERY day is different. Some days I’m covering something dark and sad… and other days I’m assigned to cover stories like “National Donut Day!” Covering National Donut Day couldn’t have come at a worse time. I’m right in the midst of my Whole30 challenge!!! That means NO SUGAR (and other bad stuff) for 30 days!!! If you slip up, you have to start over!!! Ah!

Luckily, I have a close friend doing the program with me. We talked a long time yesterday about surviving this day of serious temptation.

I ate a giant Whole30 breakfast to start my morning…

…I sipped on black coffee all morning long.

Also, I told my anchor to NOT ask me to take of a bite of Dunkin’ Donuts’ new DONUT SANDWICH!! Ahh! (Can you image being asked to break your crazy diet on live TV?)

Lillian Askins LiveBut I survived….CLICK HERE TO WATCH THE CLIP!

Before I knew it… Donuts were filling my news car!!! Luckily,  my partner in crime is supporting me every step of the way.

She also told me about an awesome treat; slice bananas and melt almond butter on top! Yum! Just as delicious as a donut? I think so!

Thank you Samantha for being so supportive!

I could NEVER do this without you. LAUNCH YOUR BLOG ALREADY!

MrsLillySignaturewithheart

 

Comments

  1. Good for you!!! I completed the Whole30 last month and have two kiddos on day 7 today. Shhhhh, they don’t know it’s donut day 😉

  2. Best thing I’ve seen today! I’m currently on Day 4 of my second Whole 30 and not only do I love donuts, but we literally just had a brand new Dunkin open in our town. Kudos to you for facing that sweet temptation and giving it right back to it!

  3. Cynthia says:

    Great job! I just finished my first Whole 30. A couple of other sweet treats I made during the challenge are a chocolate sauce and a banana drizzled with chocolate almond butter and strawberry jam. For the sauce, I mashed a banana with a little ghee and added unsweetened cocoa. I cooked it in the microwave. I dipped celery and strawberries in it. I made the almond butter and used only arrow root powder in the jam. I am going to try the warm banana idea. It looks great!

  4. I feel your pain. I am at the beginning of my first whole30 and bummed about “donut day!” I even took a picture of your text message and messaged it to a friend. LOL!

    • Haha!! My friend is so funny. I really couldn’t go through this “pain” without her. The Vampire analogy really puts things in perspective. lol! #PoorEdwardCullen

  5. Good girl! It’s a tough storm to ride at times BUT when you make it through and look back at your accomplishment – it feels sooooooo good! Remember that feeling and use it as empowerment for the next wave.

What do you think?

