Chocolate Oatmeal – dessert for breakfast

Here is a recipe I found on the cutest blog EVER!!

It’s called Chocolate Covered Katie (the healthy dessert blog).
I’ve been wanting to try her Chocolate Oatmeal for a while— so I finally made it before work this morning!

20120724-052819.jpg

Here is Katie’s recipe:

5-Minute Chocolate Oatmeal

(Serves 1)

  • 1 serving rolled oats (40g) – 1/3 cup dry
  • 3/4 cup milk of choice
  • 1 banana
  • 1 1/2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • extra sweetener if desired

Combine all ingredients and cook, uncovered, over medium-high heat for 5-7 minutes. When it starts to bubble, stir occasionally. When I make this for others, I stir in 1 tbsp sugar (or 1 packet nunaturals stevia).

20120724-052826.jpg

20120724-052833.jpg

20120724-052840.jpg

20120724-052845.jpg

Next time I make it I will:
1. Smash banana to a paste

2. Use less cocoa powder- maybe just 1 tablespoon- I love chocolate but WOAH! that was a lot of chocolate for 2am.

3. Cook plain oatmeal first -for longer- add ingredients at the end.

Comments

  1. Robinegg says:

    I grew up with adding chocolate chips to my oatmeal!

What do you think?

