Design Application Advice

FriendToday at 11:34am
..for my interior design application I have to submit a portfolio and I have to take an artistic photograph of some sort..
they only accept 36 of the total applicants and I have to HAVE To get it.
guide me through what would be creative.
DO NOT GO TO ANY GARDEN!
that is overdone…
trite…
cliché.. etc.
DO DIFFERENT INTERESTING shots…
in you’re backyard…
around the pool…
the playground…
downtown…
your church…
garbage….
somewhere UNEXPECTED! You’ve GOT to stand out.
If you do anything they have seen before- like a rose-they will just toss it to the side.
You’ve got to be origional.
Show people something in a way they have never seen it before. Look under things… above thing… take picture OUT of stuff… They want to make sure you understand basic ELEMENTS OF DESIGN.
Line,
Color,
Composition…shape… etc.
Think SIMPLE composition… 1 subject.
you can do it!
You’re creative and quirky… I think you see things in a funny way… kinda like I do… maybe go sit somewhere…kinda hide out… and take pictures of “human behavior” .
I think a REALLY good “study” would be to stake out at the McWane Center… go to a blowing bubbles station and sit quietly and take pictures of kids blowing bubble… NEVER CENTER YOUR SUBJECT IN PHOTOGRAPHY. if you get stuck I can help you- the only reason I’m not making a 100% guarantee of my assistance is because I’m already boxed in with random &^%$ that pisses me off just thinking about it.
Comments

  1. Great advice!

    What kind of camera do you have. I love your photography. You have a good eye!

What do you think?

